Skip to main content

The NRL today confirmed the match officials for the opening Ampol State of Origin match, at Queensland Country Bank Stadium, Townsville on Wednesday, June 9.

Gerard Sutton has been nominated by the Referees Appointments Committee to take charge of the match, with Todd Smith and Phil Henderson appointed as touch judges. Ashley Klein will be the NRL Bunker official.

“Gerard refereed the NRL Grand Final and all three State of Origins in 2020 and deserves the opportunity to take charge of the first match of the Origin series in 2021,” NRL General Manager – Elite Officiating Jared Maxwell said.

“I thought Gerard refereed extremely well in the 2020 Origin series, and on the back of that display, I have absolute confidence that we’ve got the right team to do the job in game one.

“Gerard’s form in 2021 has been extremely consistent, confident, and showing the high level of authority which should allow the players to excel on this stage.”

The first ever match in Townsville will be Sutton’s 20th consecutive State of Origin match.

The match officials for the first Ampol State of Origin match are:

Referee: Gerard Sutton
Review Official: Ashley Klein
Touch Judges: Todd Smith and Phil Henderson
Standby Referee: Grant Atkins
Standby Touch Judge: David Munro