Skip to main content

The 31st edition of the Papua New Guinea National Rugby League competition, the Digicel Cup, is scheduled to kick off on Sunday, April 11 with twelve teams from across the Islands of New Guinea and New Britain to take part.

Pending on the impact of COVID-19, the competition intends to run eighteen rounds before the Finals kick off on Sunday, August 29.

The top six teams from the regular season will qualify for the Finals, with the Grand Final scheduled for Sunday, September 19 in Port Moresby.

Full fixtures for the competition will be released at the competition launch in early April.

The PNG NRL competition was established in 1990 and has run every season since except for 2004. East New Britain side, the Rabaul Gurias, are the competition’s most successful side with six Premierships, whilst the Port Moresby Vipers, Goroka Lahanis and Lae Bombers/Tigers have won five Premierships each.

The 2020 Digicel Cup title holders are the Hela Wigmen, who defeated the Lae Tigers 16 – 14 in Port Moresby.