Skip to main content

The 2020/21 Coca-Cola Ipatas Cup Finals Series is set to conclude this weekend at the Lae Rugby League Oval, with only four teams left in the competition.

Despite the latest iteration of the Ipatas Cup being disrupted thanks to COVID-19, a record 104 teams from six Provinces still took part in the tournament.

The Final Four teams left are the Strickland Raiders from Hela, the East West Ninjas from the Western Highlands, the Morobe Pride representing Morobe and the Northern Pride from Jiwaka.

Semi Finals will be played on Saturday and will see one Western Finalist (Strickland Raiders / East West Ninjas) face one Eastern Finalists (Morobe Pride / Northern Pride) in each before the Grand Final and Third Place Play-Off takes place on Sunday.

The Coca-Cola Ipatas Cup was formed by the Papua New Guinea Rugby Football League (PNGRFL) and Governor Ipatas to provide opportunities for rural and village teams to compete in a national competition and showcase the talent available from those regions.

Starting in the Highlands in 2009, the competition quickly grew to incorporate teams from across the Papua New Guinea mainlands and across New Britain, with a record number of sides taking part in 2020/21.