Skip to main content

The Sāo Paulo Raiders have won the 2021 Brasilian Rugby League Men’s Nines after defeating the Rio Sharks in the tournament Final.

Held in São Lourenço on Saturday, the Raiders ‘B’ side went through the tournament undefeated, even knocking over the Sāo Paulo ‘A’ team in their run to the Final.

The Sāo Paulo Raiders were formed in 2020 and are one of three Rugby League speciality clubs taking part in the weekend’s Men’s and Women’s tournaments.

The 2021 Men’s Brasilian Nines featured six teams from five clubs with the Minas Gerais Miners, Taubate Rugby and Urutau joining the Rio Sharks and Raiders.

Group Stages:

São Paulo B 24 d Minas Gerais 6
Rio 6 d Taubate 4
Rio 22 d São Paulo A 10
Urutau 32 d Minas Gerais 0
São Paulo A 20 d Taubate 0
São Paulo B 6 d Urutau 4

Semi Finals:
Rio 12 d Urutau 6
São Paulo B 24 d São Paulo A 8

São Paulo B 22 d Rio 12