Skip to main content

The first eight Qualifiers for Round Three of the 2020/21 Coca Cola Ipatas Cup have been decided following Friday’s Elimination Finals at Kimil Rugby League Oval.

Friday’s Finals featured the top sixteen Qualifiers from the Western Highlands, Enga and Hela Challenges, with the winners progressing to the tournament Finals in Lae.

Kicking off proceedings were the Poroma Nuggets, from the Southern Highlands Local Level Government (LLG) of Poroma, who defeated the Kawai Skippers from Kawaii Island in Papua New Guinea’s South West 10 – 8, before Dako Kala United defeated Kroton Magani 26 – 16.

Other winners included the Gomis Panthers, East West Ninjas and Strickland Raiders, whilst in the Final game of the day, the Black Sambo only defeated a combined Hela team in Golden Point to secure their spot in the Final 16.

The Final 8 Qualifiers for Round Three of the Ipatas Cup will be decided next Friday in Lae when the Eastern Elimination Finals take place.

The Coca-Cola Ipatas Cup was formed by the Papua New Guinea Rugby Football League (PNGRFL) and Governor Ipatas to provide opportunities for rural and village teams to compete in a national competition and showcase the talent available from those regions.

Starting in the Highlands in 2009, the competition quickly grew to incorporate teams from across the Papua New Guinea mainlands and across New Britain, with a record number of sides taking part in 2020/21.

Poroma Nuggets 10 d. Kawai Skippers 8
Dako Kala United 26 d. Kroton Magani 16
Gomis Panthers 10 d. Y Min United 0
Yakuman Brothers 14 d. Masip Redstar 4
East West Ninjas 4 d. JC Laima 2
Yandarin Tigers 16 d. Dirio Eels 6
GStrickland Raiders 12 d. Kima Brothers 8
Hela Combined 8 l. Black Sambo 10 full time Black Sambo won by penalty golden point.