Skip to main content

Agmark Gurias halfback, Watson Boas, has this year been named the Papua New Guinea Rugby Football League Digicel Cup Player of the Year, after winning the prestigious award at Sir John Guise Stadium on Thursday Evening.

The former PNG Hunters halfback moved to the United Kingdom in 2019 to play for the Featherstone Rovers in the UK Championship before signing with League One team, Doncaster, for the 2020 season. After COVID-19 ended the 2020 League One season, he returned to Papua New Guinea where he signed for the Gurias and lead them to a Minor Premiership.

Of the other awards presented, the Hela Wigmen picked up seven, including Rookie of the Year, Top Try and Point Scorer and Coach of the Year.

The full ist of Award Winners are below.

Rookie of the Year
Judah Rimbu, Hela Wigmen

Top Point Scorer
Solomon Pokari, Hela Wigmen

Top Try Scorer
Solo Wane, Hela Wigmen

Club of the Year
Kimbe Cutters

Coach of the Year
Charlie Wabo, Hela Wigmen

People’s Choice
Solo Wane, Hela Wigmen (42% of votes)

Team of the Year
Fullback – Joe Joshua, Lae Snax Tigers
Half Back – Watson Boas, Agmark Gurias
Winger- Solo Wane, Hela Wigmen
Centre – Benji Kot, Kimbe Cutters
Second Rower – Junior Rop, Lae Snax Tigers
Prop – Samuel Yangip, Hela Wigmen
Lock – Ila Alu, Agmark Gurias
Five Eight – Mark Tony, Lae Snax Tigers
Hooker – Wartovo Puara Jnr, Agmark Gurias

Papua New Guinea Rugby Football League The Fulltime Reserve Excellence Award
Adrian Chow

Player of the Year
Watson Boas, Agmark Gurias