Skip to main content

Rotorua International Stadium will this weekend host the 20th annual New Zealand Maori Rugby League Rangatahi Tournaments.

First started in 2000 at Upper Hutt in Wellington with just two teams (Auckland Maori and Te Whanganui a Tara), the 2020 edition will boast 42 teams across the Under 15s and Under 17s age groups.

The event will run over two days, with 12 teams to compete in the Girl’s Under 15’s & 17’s competitions, whilst the remaining 40 will be broken into the Boy’s Development and Premier competitions.

Competing teams for this weekend are:

Under 15s : Kotiro (Girl’s)
Awa, Counties Manukau MRL, Kaweitiki, Ngapuhi Ahi, Tuhoe, Waikato Maori

Under 17s : Kotiro (Girl’s)
Awa, Ngapuhi Ahi, Taranaki Whanui, Te Mahurehure, Tuhoe, Waikato Maori

Under 15s : Tama Development (Boy’s)
Kaweitiki, Taranaki Whanui MRL, Tamaki Makaurau MRL, Tuhoe

Under 17s : Tama Development (Boy’s)
Awa, Kotuku, Taranaki Whanui MRL, Tuhoe Black

Under 15s : Tama (Boy’s)
Awa, Counties Manukau MRL, Dannevirke Tigers, Ngapuhi Ahi, Ngati Tuwharetoa, Tamaki Makaurau MRL, Taranaki Whanui MRL, Te Arawa, Te Whanau o Noa – Tokoroa, Te Whānau o Waipareira, Waikato Māori

Under 17s : Tama (Boy’s)
Awa, Kaweitiki, Kotahitanga, Ngati Pikiao, Ngati Tuwharetoa, Taranaki Whanui MRL, Te Arawa, Te Mahurehure, Te Whānau o Waipareira, Tuhoe, Waikato Maori