Skip to main content

Round Eight of the 2020 PNG Digicel Cup will see matches held at two new venues following approval from the PNG Sports Foundation.

After matches were confined to only Port Moresby and Lae for the first six rounds of the competition, with Kalabond Oval in Kokopo receiving special permission for Round Seven, the PNG Rugby Football League will be able to take matches further abroad from this week onwards, with Minj (Jiwaka) and Goroka (Eastern Highlands) to host games.

Under the Banis Protocol, the PNG Rugby Football League has approval to use eight venues across the remainder of the Digicel Cup season including Kalabond Stadium (Kokopo), National Sports Institute (Goroka), Kimbe League Grounds (Kimbe), Minj League Grounds (Minj), Rebiamul Oval (Mt Hagen) and Aipus Oval (Wabag).

The Minj League Grounds (also known as John Ambane Oval) will host Saturday’s Digicel Cup match between the Waghi Tumbe and Mt Hagen Eagles, whilst the National Sports Institute will host the Goroka Lahanis against ladder leaders, the Lae Tigers.

Other fixtures to take place in Round Eight include the Hela Wigmen against the Central Dabaris in Port Moresby and the Mendi Muruks up against the Gulf Isou.

14:00 : Waghi Tumbe v Mt Hagen Eagles – John Ambane Oval, Minj

13:00 : Mendi Muruks v Gulf Isou – Lae Rugby Grounds, Lae
13:15 : Hela Wigmen v Central Dabaris – Sir John Guise, Port Moresby
14:00 : Goroka Lahanis v Lae Tigers – National Sports Institute, Goroka
15:15 : Enga Mioks v Kimbe Cutters – Lae Rugby Grounds, Lae
15:30 : Port Moresby Vipers v Rabual Gurias – Sir John Guise, Port Moresby