Skip to main content

The Colombia Rugby League XIII has been named as hosts for the 2019 Copa Sudamericana Rugby League this December.

Latin America’s largest International Rugby League tournament is set to have it’s biggest turnout yet with at least five nations committing to the tournament including 2018 hosts and Champions Brazil (Confederação Brasileira de Rugby League).

Joining them will be inaugural tournament hosts, Argentina (Confederacion Argentina de Rugby League) and 2017 Champions, Chile (Federación de Rugby League Futbol 13 Chile) who return after taking part in the Americas World Cup Qualifiers in 2018.

Mexico will round out the participants, as the Central American nation hopes to take part in their first International Rugby League tournament.

The 2019 Copa Sudamericana Rugby League will take place in Jericó, Antioquia in Colombia from December 10 – 15.

The Copa Sudamericana Rugby League is an annual tournament coordinated by the Federación Latinoamericana de Rugby League. Starting in 2016 as a Nines tournament in Argentina, the 2019 event will be the fourth iteration of the regional tournament.

2018 Copa Sudamericana:
Brazil 52 defeated Colombia 14
Argentina 28 defeated Colombia 16
Brazil 22 defeated Argentina 20

2017 Rugby League Campeonato Latino Americano
Chile 32 defeated Argentina 12
Colombia 22 defeated Brazil 18 (Third Place Play-Off)

2016 Torneo Sudamericano Rugby League
Argentina 16 defeated Chile 0