Skip to main content

Queensland Universities’ players have dominated the national squad after producing a strong win over their NSW counterparts in Sydney on Sunday.

The Queenslanders proved far too good for NSW Universities; running out to a 52-12 win at St Mary’s Leagues Stadium.

Norths Devils’ Intrust Super Cup player Dalton Phillips was named man of the match as his team pieced together a record-breaking win.

At the function following the match, 13 of the 18 Queensland players were picked in the Australian Universities squad to tour South Africa in October.

Included are the sons of two former NRL players – Jesse Domic, the son of former Broncos and Panthers’ centre Sid Domic, and Jack Peacock, son of former Wests and Gold Coast fullback Danny Peacock.

Harry Pondekas was one of the stars on Sunday (pictured scoring above), with the backrower nabbing three tries, including the opener after just two minutes.

Easts Tigers half Brayden Torpy was devastating from fullback, making several early breaks, one that led to a try to winger Jack Mackin after a one-handed off-load.

When captain Chris Ostwald chased a grubber to score in the 22nd minute, the Queenslanders had already set up their victory.

The Blues rallied with tries either side of halftime, but Pondekas’ second and third tries six minutes apart ended their hopes.

Torpy, Burleigh’ half Josh Rogers and centre Declan Morrissy all crossed in the final 20 minutes to finish off proceedings for the team coached by Gary O’Brien.

QUEENSLAND UNIVERSITIES 52 (Harry Pondekas 3, Jayden Baker, Jack Mackin, Chris Ostwald, Braydon Torpy, Josh Rogers, Declan Morrissy tries; Torpy 7, Jayden Carroll goals) DEFEATED NSW UNIVERSITIES 12 (Dallas Grieco, Dylan Izzard tries; Izzard 2 goals) at St Mary’s Leagues Stadium.

AUSTRALIAN UNIVERSITIES SQUAD (to tour South Africa, October 2018)

Jayden Baker (Queensland)
Billy Butler (NSW)
Matt Butler (Queensland)
Jesse Domic (Queensland)
Lane Ferling (Queensland)
Dylan Haaijer (Queensland)
Dylan Izzard (NSW)
Matt Jurd (NSW)
Luke Jurd (NSW)
Malachi Morgan (NSW)
Declan Morrissy (Queensland)
Jack Mackin (Queensland)
Chris Ostwald (Queensland)
Harry Pondekas (Queensland)
Jack Peacock (Queensland)
Dalton Phillips (Queensland)
Kobe Tararo (Queensland)
Robert Tuliatu (NSW)
Braydon Torpy (Queensland)
Tom Watkins (NSW)

Coach: Aaron Zimmerle (Queensland)