Skip to main content

The Mu’a Saints are the 2018 Tongan National Rugby League Jason Taumalolo Cup champions after defeating the Ha’ateiho Spartans 24 – 23 in a thrilling finish to the season.

Played at the Toloa Fields, the Group A and B Champions battled it out in a thrilling final which see-sawed both ways before the Mu’a Saints took out the match in the final minutes of the game.

In the other finals played, the Makaunga Titans defeated Fatumu to win the Second Division Grand Final, whilst the Toloa Old Boys (Division One) and Kolomotu’a (Division Two) claimed third spot in the Third Place Play-Offs played on the day.

Second Division:
Third Place Play-Off: Kolomotu’a Eagles defeated Fasi Ma’ufanga*
Grand Final: Makaunga Titans 24 defeated Fatumu 8

First Division:
Third Place Play-Off: Toloa Old Boys 26 defeated Vaini Doves 19
Grand Final: Mu’a Saints 24 defeated Ha’ateiho Spartans 23

* Fasi Ma’ufanga fielded ineligible players, meaning the Kolomotu’a Eagles were awarded the win.