Skip to main content

The Country U23’s will take on a new look Scottish side in Ballina, with seven uncapped players joining a host of English Super League stars and Yamba-born Luke Douglas in the Braveheart’s squad for Friday night’s match at Kingsford Smith Park.

The match-up between the Country and Scotland sides will be the main event in a festival of football on the day, with Byron Bay taking on Coffs Harbour in a battle of the Ladies League Tag Premiers from the NRRRL and Group 2 at 4:30pm and Group 1 and Group 18 facing off in the U16’s at 5:30pm.

Regional fans will have the opportunity to meet some of the stars of the Rugby League World Cup, with the Braveheart’s hosting an open training and meet and greet at Kingsford Smith Park on Thursday with training kicking-off from 3:30pm.

Tickets will be available at the gate – $10 Adults, $5 concession and Under-15’s free of charge.

The match will also be Live Streamed courtesy of BarTV Sports on Country Rugby League’s Facebook Page and Asia Pacific Rugby League website.

Country U23’s
1. Jamie Ghoulmieh (Lakes United)
2. Jake Wheeler (Queanbeyan United)
3. Ryley Thomas (West Belconnen Warriors)
4. Jacob Gagai (Lakes United)
21. Kyle Krisanski-Kennedy (Lakes United)
6. Kauri Aupouri (Wyong Roos)
7. Jack Hickson (Woden Valley Rams)
8. Roman Fepulea’I (South Newcastle)
9. Jarrod Smith (Maitland Pickers)
10. Mitchell Shaw (West Belconnen Warriors)
11. Jake Lawrence (South Newcastle)
12. Tori Freeman-Quay (West Belconnen Warriors)
13. Joshua Baker (Queanbeyan United)

14. Lincoln Smith (Maitland Pickers)
15. Brett Solomon (Tuggeranong Bushrangers)
16. Luke Higgins (South Newcastle)
17. Brendan O’Hagan (Berkeley Vale)
18. Samuel Keenan (Western Suburbs)
19. Cleveland McGhie (Woden Valley Rams)
20. Jedidiah Simbiken (Queanbeyan Kangaroos)

Coach: Josh Cale

Scotland Braveheart’s
1. Alex Walker (London Broncos)
2. Shane Toal (Barrow Raiders)
3. Lachlan Stein (Penrith Panthers)
4. Jarred Anderson (Sydney Roosters)
5. David Scott (Batley Bulldogs)
6. Oscar Thomas (Bradford Bulls)
7. Callum Phillips (Workington Town)
8. Sam Brooks ( Featherstone Rovers)
9. Kane Bentley (Toulouse Olympique)
10. Kieran Moran (Hull KR)
11. Brandan Wilkinson (Bradford Bulls)
12. Frankie Mariano (Featherstone Rovers)
13. Johnny Walker ( Darlington Point )

14. Andrew Bentley (Toulouse Olympique)
15. James Bell (New Zealand Warriors)
16. Dale Ferguson (Huddersfield Giants)
17. Ben Hellewell (London Broncos)
18. Lewis Clark (Edinburgh Eagles)
19. Luke Westman (Berkeley Eagles)
20. Danny Brough (Huddersfield Giants)

Coach: Steve McCormack