Skip to main content

Frank Pritchard will captain Toa Samoa at the 2017 Rugby League World Cup after being named in a 24-man which includes Canberra Raiders powerhouse Josh Papalii.

Rugby League Samoa president Tagaloa Faafouina Su’a announced the squad in Samoa on Friday for the tournament, which will be played in Australia, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea between 27 October and 2 December.

The squad will be led by Pritchard, the 33-year-old who returned to the NRL from the English Super League to join Parramatta this season. He represented New Zealand at the 2013 Cup and has played 27 Tests for the Kiwis, as well as five Tests for Samoa.

Papalii, who has played eight Tests for Australia including this year’s clash with the Kiwis in May, will represent Samoa for the first time and will play alongside Canberra teammates Junior Paulo and Joey Leilua in a strong Toa Samoan side with extensive NRL and Super League experience but a blend of youth.

Samoa Rugby League World Cup 2017 Squad

Frank Pritchard (c)
Bunty Afoa
Leeson Ah Mau
Faamanu Brown
Herman Ese’ese
Pita Godinet
Tim Lafai
Joseph Leilua
Ricky Leutele
Sam Lisone
Jarome Luai
Suaia Matagi
Peter Mata’utia
Ken Maumalo
Zane Musgrave
Josh Papalii
Joseph Paulo
Junior Paulo
Ben Roberts
Sam Tagataese
Jazz Tevaga
Young Tonumaipea
Frank Winterstein
Matthew Wright