Skip to main content

Rugby League Nines is set to feature again in the lead up to next year’s Commonwealth Games tournament on the Gold Coast after the proposed second Commonwealth Championship was endorsed by the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF).

Following on from the inaugural Championship in 2014, Rugby League Nines will again feature as a exhibition event as the code continues to push for inclusion as a medal event at the 2022 Commonwealth Games.

Just like 2014, the 2018 Championship will be age restricted, however the age for players in the team will increase from Under 19s to Under 23s.

The Championship will take place in Brisbane on February 23-24.

Teams for the tournament are yet to be finalised, however hosts, Australia, defending champions, Papua New Guinea, plus England and South Africa will all feature.

The Championship is expected to feature between 8 – 12 nations.

Participants in 2014 included Wales, Scotland, Jamaica, Canada, Australia, Scotland, England and South Africa.

Other Rugby League nations which are eligible to take part in Commonwealth Games Federation sanctioned events include Cameroon, Cook Islands, Fiji, Ghana, Kenya, Malta, New Zealand, Nigeria, Niue, Norfolk Island, Northern Ireland, Pakistan, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Tonga and Vanuatu.