Skip to main content

The sixth and final participant to the 2017 Women’s Rugby League World Cup will be decided this Saturday at St Mary’s Stadium in Sydney’s West when the representative sides from Fiji, Samoa, Tonga and the Cook Islands go head to head.

The fifth iteration of the premier Women’s Rugby League International Tournament will take place in Sydney next year, with five competing nations already confirmed.

Saturday’s round robin tournament will determine who will join them in what is set to be one of the most closely contested Women’s World Cups yet.

Automatic qualifiers for the 2017 tournament are Australia, New Zealand, England, Canada and Papua New Guinea.

Of the teams fighting it out for the final qualification spot, only Fiji has never appeared before in a Women’s World Cup, with Samoa and Tonga featuring twice (2005 and 2008) and Cook Islands making an appearance in 2005.

Women’s World Cup Qualifier schedule:
Game 1: Tonga v Cook Islands – 12pm
Game 2: Samoa v Fiji – 12pm
Game 3: Fiji v Tonga – 2pm
Game 4: Cook Islands v Samoa – 2pm
Game 5: Tonga v Samoa – 5pm
Game 6: Fiji v Cook Islands – 5pm