Skip to main content

The new-look NZRL National Premiership will kick off on September 11, with a power-packed doubleheader at Auckland’s Mt Smart Stadium.

In the confirmed premiership schedule, Akarana Falcons take on Wellington Orcas in the early game, with champions Counties Manukau facing Canterbury Bulls in a rematch of last year’s finalists.

All premiership games this season will be televised live on SKY, including the October 1 Grand Final, also at Mt Smart Stadium.

The revamped national competition will see these traditional powerhouses contest the top grade, with Auckland represented by its two NZRL zones, while winners from four qualifying pools will compete for the NZRL National Championship.

Championship winners will play the fourth-placed premiership side for promotion next season.

Full draws for the 2016 NZRL premiership and championship, and regional qualifying competitions are:


Date Fixture Venue Time
Sunday, September 11 Akarana Falcons v Wellington Orcas Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland 2pm
Sunday, September 11 Counties Manukau Stingrays v Canterbury Bulls Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland 4pm
Friday, September 16 Akarana Falcons v Counties Manukau Stingrays, Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland 7.30pm
Sunday, September 18 Canterbury Bulls v Wellington Orcas AMI Stadium, Christchurch 4pm
Sunday, September 25 Wellington Orcas v Counties Manukau Stingrays Wellington Orcas v Counties Manukau Stingrays 2pm
Sunday, September 25 Canterbury Bulls v Akarana Falcons AMI Stadium, Christchurch 4pm
Saturday, October 1 Grand Final (First v Second) Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland 8pm
Saturday, October 1 Promotion/Relegation (Fourth v Championship winners) Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland 6pm


Date Fixture
Saturday, September 10 Northern v Central
Saturday, September 10 Southern v Development
Saturday, September 17 Central v Southern
Saturday, September 17 Northern v Development
Saturday, September 24 Development v Central
Saturday, September 24 Development v Central


Date Fixture Venue Time
 Saturday, August 20 Waikato v Coastline Paterson Park, Ngaruawahia 2.30pm
 Saturday, August 20 Northland v Bay of Plenty Trigg Arena, Whangarei 2pm
 Saturday, August 27 Bay of Plenty v Waikato Puketawhero Park, Rotorua 2.30pm
 Saturday, August 27 Coastline v Northland Mitchell Park, Tauranga 2.30pm
 Saturday, September 3 Coastline v Bay of Plenty Tarawera Park, Kawerau TBC 2.30pm
 Saturday, September 3 Northland v Waikato Toll Stadium, Whangarei 2.30pm


Date Fixture Venue
Saturday, August 20 Manawatu Mustangs v Taranaki Sharks Fitzherbert Park, Palmerston North
Saturday, September 3 Taranaki Sharks v Manawatu Mustangs Yarrow Stadium, New Plymouth


Date Fixture Venue
Saturday, August 20 Otago Whalers v West Coast Chargers Dunedin
Saturday, August 20 Southland Rams v Tasman Titans Invercargill
Saturday, August 27 Tasman Titans v West Coast Chargers Nelson
Saturday, August 27 Southland Rams v Otago Whalers Invercargill
Saturday, September 3 West Coast Chargers v Southland Rams Greymouth
Saturday, September 3 Tasman Titans v Otago Whalers Tasman Titans v Otago Whalers