Skip to main content

The New South Wales Combined Catholic Colleges (NSWCCC) has defeated the New South Wales Combined High Schools (NSWCHS) 26 – 24 in final of the 2016 Under 18’s Australian Secondary Schools Championship held in Wynnum in Queensland.

A successful conversion after the siren handed the Combined Catholic Colleges the win in see-sawing clash in South-East Queensland. Full results for the tournament listed below.

ASSRL Under 18’s Championship Groups:
Group A: NSW Combined Catholic Colleges (NSWCCC), NSW Combined High Schools (NSWCHS), Queensland Secondary Schools (QSS)
Group B: Australian Capital Territory (ACT), Combined Affiliated States (CAS), NSW Combined Independent Schools (NSWCIS)

Tournament Results:
Day 1 – Sunday 10  July
Game 1: NSWCIS 34 
(Tries: Triston Reilly, John Hopoate, Jack Conlan, Ryan Papenhuyzen, George Francis, Thomas Fuller Goals: Ryan Papenhuyzen 4, Hosea Leuea) defeated CAS 22  (Tries: Curtis Dansey-Smaller 2,Kelma Tuilagi, Keegan Quackawoot Goals: Sale Finau 3)

Game 2: NSWCHS 34 (Tries: Zachary Lomax 4, Justice Utato, Mawene Hiroti, Jayden Hocking, Dean Blore Goals: Zachary Lomax) defeated Queensland 18 (Tries: Kyle Paterson, Payne Haas, Julian Christian Goals: Sean Garner 2, Julian Christian)

Day 2 – Monday 11 July
Game 3: ACT 34 
(Tries: Jesse Smith-Shields, Lachlan Cooper, Joshua Stuckey, Daniel Keir, Sebastian Kris, Samuel Finnigan Goals: Nic Cotric 4, Lachlan Cooper) defeated CAS 20 (Tries: Seuiavatale Seuiavatale, Sale Finau, Jordan Leiu, Dylan Vea-Tewhare Goals: Sale Finau 2)

Game 4: NSWCCC 32 (Tries Setefano Hala, Tristan Sailor, Sean O’Sullivan, Campbell Graham, James Tautaiolefua, Nicholas Mougios Goals: Sean O’Sullivan 3, Tristan Sailor) defeated NSWCHS 6 (Tries: Sean Keppie, Goals: Zachary Lomax)

Day 3 – Tuesday 12 July 
Game 5: NSWCIS 44  (Tries: George Francis 2, Adam Doueihi 2, Tom Angel, Harrison Leonard, Matthew Morgan, Samuel Dolores Goals: Adam Doueihi 6) defeated ACT  4 (Tries: Lachlan Cooper)

Game 6: Queensland 16  (Tries: Samuel Murphy, Julian Christian, Liam Pakau Goals: Julian Christian 2) defeated  NSWCCC 8  (Tries: Campbell Graham, Nicholas Mougios)

Day 4 – Wednesday 13 July
Game 7: CAS 40 (Tries: Sale Finau 2, Mykelti Lefau, Seuiavatale Seuiavatale, Curtis Dansey-Smaller, Kelma Tuilagi, Jordin Leiu Goals: Sale Finau 6) defeated ACT   22 (Tries: David Williams 2, Daine Spencer, Lachlan Cooper Goals: Lachlan Cooper2, Samuel Finnegan)

Semi Final 1: NSWCCC 38 (Tries: Tristan Sailor 2, Kenneth Koro, Campbell Graham, Tom Starling, Michael Tupou, Joshua Curran, Lachlan Lam Goals: Sean O’Sullivan 2, Kyle Flanagan) defeated NSWCIS 6   (Tries: Samuel Dolores Goals: Adam Doueihi )

Semi Final 2: NSWCHS 26 (Tries: Reece Robson, Dean Blore, Fili Utaikamanu, Zac Lomax, Mawene Hiroti, Tuimavave Afualo  Goals: Zac Lomax) defeated Queensland 6  (Tries: Thomas Mikaele Goals: Tyson Smoothy)

Day 5 – Friday 15 July
Game 8: ACT 42  (Tries: Daniel Keir 3, Samuel Finnigan 3, Joel Ambrose, Sebastian Kris Goals: Nic Cotric 4, Samuel Finnigan) defeated NSWCIS 26 (Tries: Sam Dolores 2, John Hopoate, Jack Conlan, Thomas Dolores Goals: Adam Doueihi 3)

Game 9: Queensland 38  (Tries: Tom Kenny 4, Sean Garner, Samuel Martin-Savage, Kalemb Hart, Kees Nicholson Goals: Sean Garner 3) defeated CAS 12  (Tries: Mykelti Lefau, Uala Salia Goals: Sale Finau 2)

Championship Final:  NSWCCC 26 (Tries: Sean O’Sullivan 2, Beni Valu, Tristan Sailor, Campbell Graham Goals: Sean O’Sullivan 3) defeated  NSWCHS 24 (Tries: Filia Utaikamanu, Jayden Hocking, Tuimavave Afualo, Mawene Hiroti Goals: Mawene Hiroti 4)