Skip to main content

Rugby League is set to return to King’s Park in Kowloon this Monday when the Hong Kong Rugby League hosts their second annual Hong Kong Nines.

Following on from last October’s successful event, the Hong Kong Rugby League is set to host the largest Nines event yet, with eight teams from across the region to take part in the 2016 tournament.

Four new teams, the South Pacific All Stars, Victorious Secrets, Sheung Wan Wild Boars and Tsim Sha Tsui Renegades will join inaugural participants, the Wan Chai Warriors, Hong Kong Hunters, Coast Cobras and tournament champions, the Mong Kok Creepers, this Monday.

Hong Kong Island will provide the majority of the teams for the event, with Wan Chai, Central (Hunters),Sheung Wan and Causeway Bay (Victorious Secrets) all represented, whilst the newly formed South Pacific All Stars sees Hong Kong’s largest Island, Lantau Island, get representation.

Tsim Sha Tsui (Renegades) joins Gold Coast (Cobras) and Mong Kok (Creepers) in representing sides on the mainland.

Club Map

The 2016 tournament will kick off at 10:30 local time with teams broken into two pools. Defending Premiers, the Mong Kok Creepers will join the Warriors, Hunters and Secrets in Group A, whilst 2015 runners up, the Coast Cobras are grouped with the All Stars, Wild Boars and Renegades.

Draw for the tournament below:

Start Time End Time Team 1 Team 2
10:30 11:00 Creepers Secrets
11:00 11:30 Hunters Warriors
11:30 12:00 All Stars Renegades
12:00 12:30 Cobras Wild Boars
12:30 13:00 Hunters Secrets
13:00 13:30 Warriors Creepers
13:30 14:00 Cobras Renegades
14:00 14:30 Wild Boars All Stars
14:30 15:00 Warriors Secrets
15:00 15:30 Creepers Hunters
15:30 16:00 All Stars Cobras
16:00 16:30 Wild Boars Renegades
17:00 17:30 Winner Group 1 Winner Group 2


To find out more about Hong Kong Rugby League visit their official website – or follow them on Facebook on